Hyper b-day, blog!!!

Dear all, greetings from Vienna!

I am a very happy person these past 24 hours (I am actually a very happy person in general – for some strange reason though it hardly ever shows in my writing…) . First of all, I got plenty of sleep. Second of all, I have finally, after many weeks of searching and trying, found where to settle in the vast blog-e-verse and do it my way. Actually, it was made possible by the advice on the amazing forum with a bazillion of useful wp tips. I was making weird squeaky sounds when I found what I needed there and hence my day was spent in the company of my laptop.

Alternative option – freezing my nose, butt, toes and fingers somewhere outdoors in this weather – was not excessively alluring. I have already done my fair share of walking around Vienna in the summer, customary 1000 of pictures included, which is why it had been selected as a perfect Christmas vacation getaway from the gorgeous city of Prague (well, that and the fact that return bus ticket was only 30 euros, plus I can stay at a friend’s place as long as I make sure there is enough milk in the fridge 🙂 ). Nothing against my most beloved town of residence, but somehow over the holidays, 15 years into observing it all, I started having a feeling that from about december 10th somebody just hits “replay” button on a strange DVD called “holidays in Prague”. It is enchanting the first 1-3 times around and magical enough to draw people from all around the world in. I, however, have nothing at all to purchase at the Christmas markets, and the club scene gets into ‘hibernate’ mode all the way up to New Year’s Eve, so in the past few years I have made it a mission of mine to organize and execute holiday escapes.

In addition to finding the philosopher’s stone (aka the way to link my pages to other pages), I managed to locate and ambush one of the probably 5 in total decent zouk dancers in the whole of Vienna at the party tonight. The other girl he was dancing with had hurt her finger and, luckily, he was the type to enjoy improv-loco-style of dancing and fully into the idea of using each song for its purpose for as long as any were still playing (zouk floor at Floridita only functions till about 11-12pm, depending on attendance, while the main ‘action’ takes place on the salsa floor. Tonight zouk kept playing till half past midninght 🙂 I wonder if it had anything to do with us two hmmmm – we were the only ones there for that entire last half an hour 😀 ). We ended up making a private show for the people sitting around (even earned a few rounds of applause 😀 😀 😀 ). Out of all else, dancing zouk in Vienna was the last thing I expected. I definitely expected catching up on some snooze and devouring my customary Sacher torte at the Sacher hotel cafe. I had also reasonably forecasted a reasonable share of salsa (the dance, not the sauce). But somehow even tango didn’t come as so much of a surprise as this zoukin’ session!!!

Anyway, before I further bore you with all that dance-related terminology, let me get to what this post was supposed to be about before my enthusiasm hijacked it: having made the final decision and having found what I was looking for, I thereby officially declare that not only a rather famous baby had been successfully born this Christmas 2009 but also my (I would humbly presume, somewhat less famous) blog. Ta-daaaa!!! Now pop Champagne :).

Thus far I am basically creating the functioning platform for what is to come, but I hope in a few months’ time I will be able to start transforming this little monster of mine into everything I had previewed for it. Inshallah, it will eat well, grow up strong, colorful, playful, exciting, engaging, and will have similar little monsteritos in the future :).

At this point, allow me to welcome you in shade. I hope you will enjoy your visits here!

About in shade

A cocktail of personality traits hard to digest for some but ultimately soothing for those who can. I observe, enjoy, travel, interact, photograph, dance, contemplate, write and love my way through this life's countless occurrences. This blog is a way to share with the world and its people some of the treasures they give me every day.
This entry was posted in Dance, Vienna and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hyper b-day, blog!!!

  1. 3cardtrick says:

    Blog looks great! Thrilled that WP worked out for you and that you found that WP-tips site. All the best!

    • in shade says:

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you like it already, even though it’s only the very very beginning. Hopefully, I’ll be able to make it look agreeable and fill it with engaging content eventually. And once again thank you for all your advice – I think that I wouldn’t end up finding the linking trick without your suggestions – they pointed the way. Happy new year!!!

  2. Pingback: Vienna whining | Travel tales

  3. debatanu says:

    very nice…. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

