Dear believers…

God here.

First, I do not exist. The concept of a 13,700,000,000 year old being, capable of creating the entire universe and its billions of galaxies, monitoring simultaneously the thoughts and actions of the 7 billion human beings on this planet is ludicrous. Grow a brain.

Second, if I did, I would have left you a book a little more consistent, timeless and independently verifiable than the collection of Iron Age Middle Eastern mythology you call the Bible. Hell, I bet you cannot tell me one thing about any of its authors, their credibility or their possible ulterior motives, yet you cite them for the most extraordinary of claims.

Thirdly, when I sent my “son” (whatever that means, given that I am god and do not mate) to Earth, he would have visited the Chinese, Japanese, Europeans, Russians, sub-Saharan Africans, Australian Aboriginals, Mongolians, Polynesians, Micronesians, Indonesians and native Americans, not just a few Jews. He would also have exhibited a knowledge of something outside of the Iron Age Middle East.

Fourthly, I would not spend my time hiding, refusing to give any tangible evidence of my existence, and then punish those who are smart enough to draw the natural conclusion that I do not exist by burning them forever. That would make no sense to me, given that I am the one who withheld evidence of my existence in the first place.

Fifth, I would not care who you do or how you “do it.” I really wouldn’t. This would be of no interest to me, given that I can create universes. Oh, the egos.

Sixth, I would have smited all evangelicals and fundamentalists long before this. You people drive me nuts. You are so small minded and yet you speak with such false authority. Many of you still believe in the talking snake nonsense from Genesis. I would kill all of you for that alone and burn you for an afternoon (burning forever is way too barbaric for me to even contemplate).

Seventh, the whole idea of members of one species on one planet surviving their own physical deaths to “be with me” is utter, mind-numbing nonsense. Grow up. You will die. Get over it. I did. Hell, at least you had a life. I never even existed in the first place.

Eighth, I do not read your minds, or “hear your prayers” as you euphemistically call it. There are 7 billion of you. Even if only 10% prayed once a day, that is 700,000,000 prayers. This works out at 8,000 prayers a second — every second of every day. Meanwhile I have to process the 100,000 of you who die every day between heaven and hell. Dwell on the sheer absurdity of that for a moment.

Finally, the only reason you even consider believing in me is because of where you were born. Had you been born in India, you would likely believe in the Hindu gods, if born in Tibet, you would be a Buddhist. Every culture that has ever existed has had its own god(s) and they always seem to favor that particular culture, its hopes, dreams and prejudices. What, do you think we all exist? If not, why only yours?

Look, let’s be honest with ourselves. There is no god. Believing in me was fine when you thought the World was young, flat and simple. Now we know how enormous, old and complex the Universe is.

Move on — get over me. I did.

(P.S. If someone knows the original author – please let me know so I can give due credit!)

About in shade

A cocktail of personality traits hard to digest for some but ultimately soothing for those who can. I observe, enjoy, travel, interact, photograph, dance, contemplate, write and love my way through this life's countless occurrences. This blog is a way to share with the world and its people some of the treasures they give me every day.
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Quotes, The LOL factor, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dear believers…

  1. exinvoluntarymuslim says:

    i love this! thank you for posting!

  2. tobeforgiven says:

    So what is the purpose of this? You dont believe in God? OK!

  3. in shade says:

    The purpose of anything like this is awareness-spreading. And the purpose of this… well, if you don’t like the fact that you live almost 4 times as long now as when we lived in the caves and if you hate the comforts you can enjoy, the freedoms and the rights – then sure, no purpose whatsoever…

  4. tobeforgiven says:

    Perhaps, I will be more specific.
    Awareness of what?
    What is to be gained by convincing people away from religion?

    Lastly, your last statement does need clarification.
    Are you saying that if Christians, or religious had thier way we would be living in caves?

    • in shade says:

      To answer your first question: please read “I am fucking angry” entry.

      To answer your second question: belief in supernatural explanations, invisible powers and divine sanction had halted development of human knowledge, scientific understanding, human rights, medicine and technology. If all people that ever lived didn’t ever venture beyond the belief in supernatural explanations alone – we indeed would very likely still be living in the caves (we wouldn’t get as far as Christianity even… But we would be stuck in the Dark Ages instead if we let the Christian agenda dictate laws and conduct). Similarly, the progress gained can be reversed (see the Islamic regions as a historic case study).

  5. tobeforgiven says:

    That is not historically accurate. The abolition of slavery (William Wilburforce), Society for the protection of Children, the civil Rights movement (Rev. Martin Luther King Jr.) Descartes (the mathmatician) , William of Ockham (Ockham’s razor), Copernicus, Pascal, Louis Pasteur, Georg Cantor (the idea of infinity), Georges Lamaitre (the big bang theory), Stanley Jaki, John T. Houghton, Isham….. ALL Christians!!
    Without these folks we would most certianly be in the dark ages once again.
    Also, do you know what cuased the dark ages? While the tyranny of the Catholic “church” was a factor, the initial cause was the invasion of barbarian hordes, who destroyed cities where academic achievements often resided.
    http://staff.rfsd.k12.co.us/~mcook/html/dark_ages_notes.html

    Look, we know, as Christians what a lack of knowledge and understanding for people groups can do. To be angry at an entire group of people, becuase of instances in history or the minority within that group who behave in an ungodly way (there are 3 billion Christians, most are not unloving intolerant folks), is intolerance in itself. To judge an entire group of people based on the actions of a few is judgemental.

    I really want to be honest here, but I want to challenge you (perhaps this could be used in an attempt to grow in your ability to argue with folks like me 🙂 ). I want you to answer this honestly. But do you think your anger has formed your arguement, as opposed to real knowlege having formed that arguement?

    • in shade says:

      Your mention of great Christian thinkers is no more valid to the discussion than if I listed to you a bunch of ancient Arabic Lands philosophers and mathematicians from the times of liberal interpretation of the Quran…

      Your focus on Christian believers alone shows your lack of understanding of my premise, too. It isn’t Christianity or the inquisition that is the problem (although the amount of progress destroyed by churches worldwide is, in fact, paramount… Oh and you may be forgetting that assigning a ‘divine’ explanation to ANYTHING at all sanctions NON-INQUIRY. It is THE answer, and thus no further investigation/questioning is needed or even allowed. We were LUCKY that within that setting there were SOME people with an inquisitive mind that brought about at least some advancement of human knowledge at all).

      It is a belief in supernatural explanations, coupled with the sense of RIGHTEOUSNESS that is INHERENT to ANY belief in a god. Would YOU believe in a god that you thought was FALSE?… No. You choose to believe in a god that you think is TRUE. THAT is in and of itself a judgmental state of affairs – for you deem ALL other types of belief inherently WRONG/FALSE. Also, you probably didn’t fully understand the problem of claims to divine sanction…

      Your question on anger/argument is non-sensical. You could with just the same validity ask me “why does green color not taste like peppermint?” In other words, just because you can formulate a question in English language doesn’t necessarily make that question make any sense. If you do not see your question as making no sense whatsoever, then I’m afraid you also didn’t understand the purpose of the speech in that video, its premises and the general position of people like myself. In such case, there is no possibility to advance a discussion – as long as the basic premises remain misunderstood, there is nothing to build upon.

  6. tobeforgiven says:

    Sorry I did not get this comment before responding to the last.
    I do indeed choose to believe in a God that I think is true. Yes, of course. That is how I am with everything. I believe the sky is blue, becuase I think it to be true. Of course. I believe water is wet, becuase I think it to be true. I believe Cricket is the most boring sport to wathc. I believe it becuase I think it is true. And yes I would deem all other types of belief inherently wrong, unless I was presented with logical arguements against my beliefs, which I could accept as fact beyond a reasonable doubt.
    Have you not also labeled my beliefs wrong, becuase you think that you are right? Of Course! I don’t call you judgemental. However, the idea that you are basing anger towards a group of people based on your view of the actions of some in history would be judgemental. Is this what you believe?
    I am not clear on who my last question made no sense to you.
    I will rephrase it. Do not make assumptions as to my understanding simply becuase you didn’t understand me. This is a intellect killer as it is a conversation killer. If we kill conversations we will never learn from one another.
    My question rephrsed would be. Is your denial of divinity caused by your anger of those who believe or is it caused by the facts presented against the idea of divinity?

    • in shade says:

      1. The sky isn’t blue. In fact – there is NO sky. What we call a sky (since up until rather recently we actually thought the sky was an actual thing of its own 🙂 ) is actually the visible to us universe that we look at through the atmosphere. Speaking of the atmosphere – it causes specific light refraction, making us perceive it as blue. The real ‘sky’ (aka the visible to us universe), as you may be aware, is actually black.

      2. Your claims to “believing” in REAL TANGIBLE THINGS have absolutely NO weight in an argument about something fully intangible, invisible and immeasurable. Besides, it does not matter the least bit whether you BELIEVE that the water is wet or DENY it – the water, regardless of what you think about it, actually maintains its properties regardless of your opinion on the existence/non-existence of these properties.

      Equally, your “belief” in cricket being the most boring sport to watch is nothing but your personal opinion. Thousands of people worldwide may say it’s exciting to watch. In fact, it’s neither – it’s simply cricket. In and of itself, it is neither exciting nor unexciting to watch.

      Please stop comparing apples with oranges.

      In addition, if you were to TRULY “believe” in ‘god’ in the SAME way that you “believe” in a blue sky, your god better damn well be tangible/measurable/observable to begin with. And I’m afraid that this is the exact point where we run into all the trouble…

      3. It is virtually impossible to present someone with ‘logical arguments’ that can ‘proof beyond reasonable doubt’ something to a person who actually does not for a moment accept the possibility that their premise is damned wrong. In addition, I can logically ‘prove’ or ‘disprove’ to you ANYTHING on this planet – in under 10 sentences. I can prove to you unicorns exist – logically. Unfortunately, no amount of logic can influence the fact of the existence/non-existence of whatever. Logically, I prove impossibility of god’s existence in “Nothing personal” entry. However, we can debate the semantics till we’re both retired and still get nowhere.

      4. Your question makes no sense even when re-phrased. I’ll try to do my best to show you why:
      “Is your denial of divinity”

      I suggest you to look up the definition of the word denial. If it doesn’t help, let’s just say that this word can only refer to a factual claim that can be shown to be either true or false. In some specific cases, it can also mean an act of rejecting something that is clearly true (for instance, some people when they learn of a terminal illness go through a phase of denial). By your special-pleading definition of a god, it’s beyond human grasp of understanding/knowledge. Therefore, god isn’t a factual claim that can ever be actively denied.

      “caused by your anger”

      sssssure, atheists are all crazy madly angry furious losers 🙂

      “of those who believe”

      Shall I presume this to read “AT those who believe”? Because otherwise it’s actually quite a funny phrase…

      Let me ask you something: how does feeling anything towards any specific group of people have ANY BEARING WHATSOEVER on the validity of the claims they are making?.. I mean, let’s say I hate my neighbor’s guts, then one day we meet on the street, I’m facing away from my house, the neighbor is facing towards it and we engage in an exchange of ‘nice things to say to one another’… Then my neighbor screams “damn, your house is on fire!”. I look around – and my house IS on fire… Now, I AM STILL HATING on my neighbor – but what does it have to do with what the neighbor said?…

      “or is it caused by the facts presented against the idea of divinity?”

      Yes. Absolutely everything in the universe that I know of from every field I ever got to study and follow out of interest shows, thus far, an overwhelming preponderance of evidence for NO GOD. None.

  7. Dr. Sprankle says:

    Brilliant post!

Share your thoughts!

