Those cars!

You may be aware I am amidst earning my driving license… Well, yesterday I began to doubt I deserve one!

My driving instructor, of course, told me that every car is different in terms of the pedals, reactions, steering wheel etc. But THAT different?! See, one of my friends for whatever the reason was willing to jeopardize their car’s safety by telling me we can practice somewhere. Choosing that somewhere to be in the city center, however, was far from a wise decision. It turns out that I can drive pretty fine – but only the car that I am learning on :). That one is a small Fiat that reacts to slightest touch on the pedals, starts rolling with geared up clutch alone (no gas needed – great thing for parking/wheeling out of parking spot) which hooks almost right at the floor level, and is light as a feather.

Well, my friend’s car – not so much… The clutch catches on half way up, but that won’t be as bad if this car didn’t need a serious amount of gas to even move! I also was horrified to learn that the brakes don’t even realize I’m using them until significantly pressed to accept that fact – the Fiat’s brakes react to slightest touch. Needless to say it took a while to get out of the parking spot and while the first 300 meters while the car was moving around were, thankfully, uneventful, I, of course, managed to get the engine to die right at the first street light :D. My friend said that after 10 years of driving even he had trouble with this car at the get-go and had it stop dead on him at numerous occasions, but it probably didn’t help the confused guy waiting behind us at the light :D.

The wise decision was made to swap seats right at that damn light and leave experiments to a location with no traffic, where I could figure out the tricky pedals without freaking out any poor drivers around, including my poor friend, although I must say I doubt I will catch on to THAT car as easily as I got used to the driving school Fiat… My next lesson is only in a week’s time, so it would be nice to practice, and in theory it would be good to learn to operate a heavier, less responsive version of the transport as well (otherwise they really should give you a license for just one kind of cars you learn to drive!), but I’m starting to really miss my little responsive vehicle! See you in about a week, little Fiat!

About in shade

A cocktail of personality traits hard to digest for some but ultimately soothing for those who can. I observe, enjoy, travel, interact, photograph, dance, contemplate, write and love my way through this life's countless occurrences. This blog is a way to share with the world and its people some of the treasures they give me every day.
This entry was posted in All about me, In my spare time... and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Those cars!

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Eve Message to the World 2013: Fear of Success | Contemplating

Share your thoughts!

