Call me, baby!

Just to make me happy, it was relatively cold in Tel Aviv as long as I was there. Except for one day – Sunday. I used the opportunity to go to the beach and catch some sunshine.

I arrived around 10am to the huge beach with few people and groups of people on it, found a spot to the side from everyone else, set up my towel and settled down.

About 15 minutes later some woman came to the beach and laid her towel 30 centimeters away alongside mine… I’m not exactly sure why on an empty beach she believed that spot was exactly what she needed, but there she was…

I thought ‘whatever’, who knows – maybe she planned to go swimming later and thought her stuff may have been safer if she left it near someone else. I was wrong.

Immediately after taking off her top and shorts, she picked up the phone and commenced a very lengthy phone call… So, obviously, she wanted me to listen to her phone conversations!

At first I thought that maybe she just needed to call that one person and would soon wrap it up. Not that she had an unpleasant voice, but it’s a bit difficult to relax when someone you neither know nor understand is merrily chatting to an invisible friend right up in your ear. Basically, as hard as it may be to believe, I preferred to listen to the waves and keep all the other noises at background level.

Ten minutes of her non-stop talking in, I realized it was a bit too crowded for the two of us on that one square meter of sand, picked up my stuff and settled a few meters away, wondering how long the phone call may last. Turned out it was a wise decision: in the two hours that I spent on the beach since the move she had one 10-minute break in her otherwise incessant phone conversations! She was still on the phone when I left the beach…

Maybe I’m slow in understanding some things, but I can’t figure out why the hell she had to lay down literally less than half a meter away from me on an empty beach? Did she think I’d appreciate the radio talk-show for hours at end? In other words: WTF? 😀

About in shade

A cocktail of personality traits hard to digest for some but ultimately soothing for those who can. I observe, enjoy, travel, interact, photograph, dance, contemplate, write and love my way through this life's countless occurrences. This blog is a way to share with the world and its people some of the treasures they give me every day.
This entry was posted in In my spare time..., The LOL factor. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts!